old

bits

sign

book

me

live!

rock

und kunst

rings

links

full

frontal

diary

land

de

moi

3:37 p.m. : 2002-02-02 : Eggs in the Fire and Other Delicacies

Crack two eggs into a big iron shovel with a side of bacon and put it into the fire in the train engine until cooked. This is what sucked me into a program on GBH of a British man on a train built in 1928, barreling through the African Bush. It�s moments like this that make me understand why Wil likes to eat cheese off of a knife and why he says an orange will never taste as good as it does next to a river with hands dirty from an all-day archaeological dig. (What, am I writing for J. Peterman now?) Now the Brit is cooking steaks in the train galley kitchen. Yum. There�s something about cooking over fire. This is a huge reason why when I move my new place must have a fireplace so that I can have numerous wienie and marshmallow roasts. Now he�s totally wasted putting brandy in a jug with strawberries, cane sugar and ice, taking a hand blender to it, pouring into a martini glass, adding a dash of bitters and floating some icy cold cream on top. He says, �It�s not me who�s been drinking, it�s the piano.� �And we might think, on a night like tonight, of pink ladies and the blues.�

It all makes me want to rewind the clock and Go West! Of course I�m romanticizing that time. With one simple twist of fate I could go from sleeping with my head on a giant dictionary in a slightly cramped stagecoach with the ever-charming Mark Twain and his brother to finding myself with the ill-fated Donner-Reed Party, eating my own dead because of a sudden blizzard that would force all eighty-seven of us to encamp in the Sierras. Or I could be one of the ones eaten.

For something else fun to eat that I just discovered last summer try edamame! You can get it at Japanese restaurants and some supermarkets. Edamame looks like snap peas but it�s actually soybeans. I recommend getting it at the restaurant, where they boil it and salt it. When you get it from the market it�s refrigerated�already boiled and only lightly salted, and if you try to heat them in the microwave they get slimy and weird. Be sure to visit the web site as Engrish is contained generously.

Another delicious green delicacy is angulas*, which are Spanish baby eels. My dad used to order them at this great restaurant in NY, Harlequin, which is now closed. I never wanted to try them back then because they looked like small pasta with pesto but had little black eyes. Well, one day at Dal� I noticed they had angulas as a special and decided to order them. Food works that way for me�I�ll think I hate something for years that I have never really tried and then one day I�ll have a craving for it and suddenly it becomes one of my favorite foods. Cheesecake was that way. Sushi too. And white anchovies. Anyway, the traditional preparation of angulas is to heat olive oil with sliced garlic and a chili pepper in an earthenware casserole. As soon as the garlic turns golden, throw the angulas in and almost immediately take them off the heat, cover with a plate and bring to the table still sizzling. You eat them on bread and they usually come with a special wooden fork to avoid a regular fork�s metallic interference with the subtle flavor.

Speaking of sizzling� I can�t stand the whole �sizzlin� fajitas� thing. It�s only sizzlin� because they pour club soda on it right before it comes to the table. I always want to ask for my fajitas �non-sizzlin�� but when it comes down to the moment and I look up at the human face of the waiter or waitress, I just don�t have the balls to say it. After all�they didn�t invent the silly idea to dazzle the dull humans with a lot of smoke and mirrors. �Hey! Look at the cool dude who ordered the sizzlin� fajitas! He�s so hip! I�ll bet ya my beamer he wears a Member�s Only jacket! Because he�s so exclusive and so Member�s Only and so collar-up! His jet-set attitude is amply displayed by his choice of sizzlin� fajitas! What a sexy choice!� It�s just so 80�s.

Cool, huh? Squid ink! I want to order it just so that I can have it in my kitchen. I bought this millet jelly from the Japanese market because it is just so weird looking and I like having it on my counter�it has a little blue-haired boy eating what kind of looks like white cotton candy, but he's holding the cone part away from him and the substance is drooping between his mouth and his hand. Anyway, in my search for angulas and white anchovies I found this awesome web site where you can buy all of this delicious and interesting food. Tienda.

Now I�m hungry again! Maybe I�ll have another clementine. But first I think I�ll try my new Kundalini yoga video with the Rock Star Gurmukh. Half the reason I neglect my yoga practice is because you�re not supposed to eat for hours before� and I�m always snacking on something, it seems.

*I like that the link for the article on angulas is on buber.com. It reminds me of overhearing my friend Mike the other night at Shay's saying something about "I'm gonna grow boobers."

last - now - next

Give Me Clix, If It Pleases You

I declare this blog �old timey,� ya flibbertigibbet! - 2012-05-27

I Heart Heart Of Gold! - 2006-03-27

Catster, Geezster - 2005-12-20

Le Divorce - 2005-12-12

'Cuz We Need A Little Christmas... - 2005-12-06

join my notify list and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Goodbye, Mailbox. Bye-bye.

All material on this site �2001 to the present copyrighted Ruby Fuss Inc. except where otherwise noted, quoted, or linked. Design �poo designs with colors and images by Ruby Fuss and other parties noted and linked (Scientist graphic by busy-milkman). To quote Sailor Jerry, "Steal [it] and we will sue you." Stir and enjoy!