old

bits

sign

book

me

live!

rock

und kunst

rings

links

full

frontal

diary

land

de

moi

3:03 p.m. : 2005-09-01 : Red Cross and Cheese Tastelessly Juxtaposed

Click to help the hurricane peeps!

From the Red Cross website:
�Immediately after a disaster or crisis, cash is best.

In the aftermath of humanitarian crises, it is critical that the response of the international community is immediate and well coordinated in order to save as many lives as possible. For this reason, volunteers in these situations usually have previous disaster or international experience, technical skills (for example, medicine, communications, logistics, water/sanitation, engineering, etc.), and are usually from neighboring communities not affected by the disaster.

Well-intentioned foreigners, lacking technical skills, disaster experience, and familiarity with the local culture and language, can seriously complicate relief efforts. For this reason, the best way for most people to help in the immediate aftermath of the disaster is by giving a cash donation.�

Obviously everybody knows the Red Cross rules and how to get to it. But I just figured I�d put a link here too because, well, I get SO much traffic I am just holding back the throngs. I am mostly celebrated in the outer reaches of Macedonia, the Former Republic of Yugoslavia. There, they dance with flower garlands on Ruby Fuss Day and smoke goat. It�s quite a scene. A happening. The men wiggle their sacs and the women waggle their arm fat and proclaim their love of delicious cheeses.

Robyn Hitchcock�s �The Cheese Alarm� has been translated into their native Macedonian for the occasion, which, incidentally, takes place on September 1.

�Roquefort and gruyere and slippery Brie
All of these cheeses they happen to me
Oh please

Rough pecorino and moody Rams Hall
Stop me before I just swallow it all
Oh please

Somebody ring the cheese alarm
Oh please
Somebody ring the cheese alarm

Goats' cheese cylinder, tangy and white
Roll over me in the flickering night
Oh please

Chaume and Jarlsberg, applewood smoked
�The pleasure is mine,� he obligingly joked
Oh please

Somebody ring the cheese alarm
Oh please
Somebody ring the cheese alarm

Hey now, Fletcher, don't keep me up late
I can't even fit into size thirty-eights
Oh please

Juddering Stilton with your blue-blooded veins
You can't build a palace without any drains
Oh please
Oh please
Oh please

Half the world starving and half the world bloats
Half the world sits on the other and gloats
Oh please

Truckle of cheddar in a muslin rind
Would you give it all up for some real peace of mind?
Oh no.�

Hey! Turns out they really DO like cheese in Macedonia!

Didn�t mean to be tasteless, just needed a light moment. Ummmm�. Click to help the hurricane peeps!

Hey - guess what? I got to meet miss bathtub mary on Monday night at her man's super-fun trivia night at Charlie's. We had such a good time! She's super-cute too, and I was a little drunk and hugged her and feel that it's neat to hug a special internet friend. She was extry nice, which was totally unsurprising. We usually don't go out on Sundays because Brent works brunch and is exhausted but I'm so glad we went and we'll definitely go back. Our team was called "Hot Octagon" and I'm still not sure why. We wanted to call ourselves "Awkward Dinner Conversation About 9/11" but for some reason that got voted down. Too bad!

last - now - next

Give Me Clix, If It Pleases You

I declare this blog �old timey,� ya flibbertigibbet! - 2012-05-27

I Heart Heart Of Gold! - 2006-03-27

Catster, Geezster - 2005-12-20

Le Divorce - 2005-12-12

'Cuz We Need A Little Christmas... - 2005-12-06

join my notify list and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Goodbye, Mailbox. Bye-bye.

All material on this site �2001 to the present copyrighted Ruby Fuss Inc. except where otherwise noted, quoted, or linked. Design �poo designs with colors and images by Ruby Fuss and other parties noted and linked (Scientist graphic by busy-milkman). To quote Sailor Jerry, "Steal [it] and we will sue you." Stir and enjoy!