old

bits

sign

book

me

live!

rock

und kunst

rings

links

full

frontal

diary

land

de

moi

4:15 p.m. : 2002-06-13 : Everybody Cut Footloose! And I'm Your Bloody Valentine.

Soon

I will sport a priest�s Pentecostal frock

as a coat

And my Supermarket Cart

will be clunked

By Young Adults who have found Jesus

but leave Him home that day.

*******************

Ms. Ruby Fuss

once made a mix tape for

Milo Singer

who owned a chain of fried chard restaurants secretly funded by

Sunflower Wiley

who was pelted with raw fruit and dead rodents at a protest lead by

Lisa Karthoum

who spent a lazy weekend inner-tubing down the Rio Picante with

Sunflower Pinkerton-Masterson

who finished "Riven" but needed a hint from

Suzette Pinkerton-Masterson

who pinned a lifetime of hopes and dreams on a single afternoon with

Roy Karthoum

who was reminded to always wear a seat belt by

Kevin Bacon

While I was in the bathroom last night I heard a kind of glass crashing, and then smaller tinkling aftershocks for a moment or two and assumed Brent had broken my favorite crystal wine glass. But no. I emerged to find my glass intact and Brent seated at the table with his head hung low. �Sugar?� he says. I�m like, �What did you break?� He managed, in a fit of Footloose dancing frenzy, to Firewater, (I swear I didn�t mean to impose such plentiful alliteration on y�all) to let the combination of soft socks, slippery wood floor, the warmth of the Maker�s Mark, and the pull of gravity get the better of him and he fell right into a bag containing a crystal chandelier I bought a couple months ago because the price was unbeatable and I wouldn�t find it anywhere else. Unfortunately I haven�t had anywhere to hang it yet but the price was so good I couldn�t pass it up, considering the hunger for crystal chandeliers in certain circles. So I shouldn�t have left it sitting on the kitchen/dance floor. And it�s just a thing after all and luckily Brent was ok and only came away with a little scrape. I would have felt really awful if he had actually gotten hurt. And my horoscope said something about simplifying my home and my life so no chandelier on the floor could be the first brutal step towards simplification. See, the people who write these horoscope daily calendars think, �Hmmm. What can we do to give Virgos a treat? I know! Tell them to simplify and organize!� The problem there is that I am not a typical Virgo in my organizational and simplification rituals in that, well, I really have none. Coupled with that slobuosity, I have the visceral need to have things clean. Which means I often exist in a tenuous space between roachslob and cleanmarm.* Whatever that means. And it�s just a horoscope after all.

*words in italics are not necessarily real words and should be considered highly suspicious.

I had a wonderful dream about my mother the other night. It was comforting. And funny, because while she was hugging me I almost asked her if we really had been communicating in waking life but decided not to ask because I already believe it.

I think I just heard a woman on TV say �the blacker the bear the sweeter the juice.� Wow. [Oops... it was actually the sweeter the "berry"...that makes more sense.]

I think I wrote awhile back, maybe not, about my love for Japanese stationary. This is Afro Ken, a popular character (I think Ken means dog). I freakin� love him. My stationary says, �You�ll get something funky from Afro Ken.� And there are so many varieties of Afro Ken! I found the picture on this Japanese girl�s completely adorable site where she sings the praises of, among other things, the non-smoking American coffee shop that�s made quite a breakthrough in Japan�Starbucks! Heh. Speaking of that, I could sure go for a Dunkin� Donuts Iced Crack.

I�m supposed to have Das Otto Cats practice tonight but as Joan Didion wrote, my �sense of living underwater, that dark involvement with blood and birth and death� is running full throttle and I don�t think I�ll be gracing them with my bloody presence. I will eat things ravenously and read comics. Right now I�m reading Mirror, Window: An Artbabe Collection by Jessica Abel and Jimmy Corrigan, The Smartest Kid on Earth by F.C. Ware, thanks to the recommendations of the lovely Stephanie (her birthday was yesterday�drop her a line. She�s a doll). The Artbabe is light and good, not to denigrate it, of course. I love her style. The Jimmy Corrigan is amazing and I�ve never seen anything like it. It�s funny and the way Jimmy is drawn is simultaneously terribly cute and heartbreaking. It contains moments of teenagers making fun of the old man and moments of equal frustration-producing poignancy. It won the Guardian First Book Award in 2001.

Word of the Day for Thursday June 13, 2002:

rubicund ROO-bih-kund, adjective:

Inclining to redness; ruddy; red.

The men are second cousins, around forty, resembling each other not very much, one taller and leaner, less rubicund than the other, who has just returned from California. --John Lukacs, [1]A Thread of Years

Rubicund from his cocktail, big, broad, lustrous with power, he exuded what Walter Pater called the "charm of an exquisite character, felt in some way to be inseparable from his person." --Edmund Morris, [2]Dutch: A Memoir of Ronald Reagan

Rubicund comes from Latin rubicundus, "red, ruddy," from rubere, "to be red."

Synonyms: sanguine, roseate. [3]Find more at Thesaurus.com.

last - now - next

Give Me Clix, If It Pleases You

I declare this blog �old timey,� ya flibbertigibbet! - 2012-05-27

I Heart Heart Of Gold! - 2006-03-27

Catster, Geezster - 2005-12-20

Le Divorce - 2005-12-12

'Cuz We Need A Little Christmas... - 2005-12-06

join my notify list and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Goodbye, Mailbox. Bye-bye.

All material on this site �2001 to the present copyrighted Ruby Fuss Inc. except where otherwise noted, quoted, or linked. Design �poo designs with colors and images by Ruby Fuss and other parties noted and linked (Scientist graphic by busy-milkman). To quote Sailor Jerry, "Steal [it] and we will sue you." Stir and enjoy!