old

bits

sign

book

me

live!

rock

und kunst

rings

links

full

frontal

diary

land

de

moi

2:39 p.m. : 2002-07-23 : Now I Wanna Be My Dog

I have one piece of advice for y�all that came to me in a dream last night by perhaps, one of my guides, seeing as that I could truly take much better care of myself: Treat yourself as if you were a new pet: Give yourself plenty of water, good food, take yourself on walks and give yourself a lot of love and attention.

You will all miss me terribly as I jam back down to the beach with Julie, later this afternoon, and return on Friday. I may or may not update. I need to bring the laptop in order to revise my thesis proposal as I have a writers� meeting on Monday and would like to have a happy product, so sleek and honorable, to hand to The Smartest Woman On Earth. Ok, well maybe not The Smartest, but she�s a marvel to humankind� REALLY.

Not long ago I downloaded a desktop background that had a picture of Skeletor and it said, �Skeletor will fuck anything that moves.� Isn�t that hilarious? I think of the line being delivered the same way I would hear in my head �The ice never melts at Sky Rink,� after looking at it on the back of this girl�s sweatshirt at ice-skating twice a week. And the thing was, we didn�t skate at Sky Rink. Sky Rink was fancy and at Chelsea Piers in NYC. We skated at Fritz Dietl�s, in Westwood, NJ, where they kept the ice frozen, but would never be so bold as to guarantee it. Sky Rink, on the other hand, taunted me from her little back, doing perfect loop jumps. The ice may have since melted at Fritz Dietl�s (I heard it did but can�t find any real evidence either way), but not at Sky Rink. No way! They keep on that ice like Mommy Dearest on Christina. �ICE! You will NEVER melt! You got me?�

Yo, though, Dietl ruled. He used to skate on stilts and shit, back in the day. Sheeyit. And the rink had the best hot chocolate and Sicilian-sliced pizza. I can still taste it! (Does everything have to come back to food?) And my teacher, Donna, was so cute as can be and wore pom-poms (!!) on her skates! And amazingly, figure skating was far less cliquey than my ballet classes. Fuck that shit, ballet. I got to be a rat in The Nutcracker. Little me, in the hot and unwieldy gray fake fur rat costume, dancing the girl harlequin doll�s combination backstage. I can still remember her dance better than my own.

Susan and I were just chatting about going to Six Flags and it reminded me of when it was Great Adventure and I went with my parents and won a giant Smurf. I made my mom drive me to school with it in the seatbelt in the front seat and me in the back. I also got lice from (we decided this had to be it) a giant yellow foam cowboy hat that I just had to try on. It seems amusement park prizes are often infested with something, or at least that�s been my luck. PB, a boy I liked in high school, won me a little stuffed dog with a loop on its head for hanging� somewhere� and where the loop met the fur there was a nest of some sort of tiny insects marching about.

That�s enough for now. I have to unpack/repack my bindle. And I�m having a hard enough time deleting the deluge of spam mail that�s squeezing its greasy pig ass into my inbox.

I realized today, thanks to Brent, that I�ve been misquoting The Simpsons in my sig file. Woe is the head that hangs low. Woe.

Word of the Day for Tuesday July 16, 2002:

immure ih-MYUR, transitive verb:

1. To enclose within walls, or as if within walls; hence, to shut up; to imprison; to incarcerate.

2. To build into a wall.

3. To entomb in a wall.

Not surprisingly, Sally shuddered at the thought of being immured in the black cave, to die slowly and hopelessly, far below the sunny hillside. --Peter Pierce, "The Fiction of Gabrielle Lord," Australian Literary Studies, October 1999

True, there was a Mughal emperor in Delhi until 1857, but he was emperor in name only, the shadow of a memory, described by Lord Macaulay as 'a mock sovereign immured in a gorgeous state prison'. --Anthony Read, [1]The Proudest Day

When I tried to think clearly about this, I felt that my mind was immured, that it couldn't expand in any direction. --Andrew Solomon, [2]The Noonday Demon

Immured by privilege in a way of life that offered little scope, army wives were often enfeebled by boredom. --Frances Spalding, [3]Duncan Grant: A Biography

Immure comes from Medieval Latin immurare, from Latin in-, "in" + murus, "wall." It is related to mural, a painting applied to a wall.

Synonyms: cloister; imprison; incarcerate. [4]Find more at Thesaurus.com.

last - now - next

Give Me Clix, If It Pleases You

I declare this blog �old timey,� ya flibbertigibbet! - 2012-05-27

I Heart Heart Of Gold! - 2006-03-27

Catster, Geezster - 2005-12-20

Le Divorce - 2005-12-12

'Cuz We Need A Little Christmas... - 2005-12-06

join my notify list and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Goodbye, Mailbox. Bye-bye.

All material on this site �2001 to the present copyrighted Ruby Fuss Inc. except where otherwise noted, quoted, or linked. Design �poo designs with colors and images by Ruby Fuss and other parties noted and linked (Scientist graphic by busy-milkman). To quote Sailor Jerry, "Steal [it] and we will sue you." Stir and enjoy!