old

bits

sign

book

me

live!

rock

und kunst

rings

links

full

frontal

diary

land

de

moi

4:43 p.m. : 2002-05-31 : On The Potadio, Uh Uh Uh, The Potadio

�Large films remain also in the memory, because their music digs itself into the ear.�

I love translating foreign pages via google when searching for things. It makes merry.

Happy birthday, Clint Eastwood! And I love that Ennio Morricone made all of those Westerns sound like 1970�s Mexico. The song entitled �The Ecstasy of Gold� from the movie of the same name is my favorite. I�ve never seen the movie but every time I hear it I picture like these star-crossed lovers, one a young white girl, daughter of the drunk saloon owner or something and an Indian, best friend to the Chief of the tribe being screwed by the saloon owner, the saloon and everyone who frequents the saloon because it�s built on an ancient burial ground and the Indian gets shot because he accidentally kills the saloon owner and revenge is thicker than water and the two only get to embrace in this moment and the sweet young girl, skirts bloodied, is screaming at everyone to �get away!� Think Romeo and Juliet meets Last of the Mohecans.

I had the wackiest dream last night. I was in Idaho with Brent and I was selling all of this stuff� random stuff� plastic bras with water and glitter inside (jelly bras!), 70�s pictures of people�one with a guy with a long black mullet and sideburns that practically took up his entire face, and a circa 1950�s radio that ran on potatoes called �Potadio.� That was definitely my favorite. And then some guy came over and asked me if I had cedar. I looked for it but I didn�t have any cedar. Then all of a sudden, on our way back to Brent�s house, this big group of mean popular kids came walking along with one of our friends on one of their shoulders and a big burly popular girl, not unlike the Sexy American Girlfriend of Long Duck Dong in Sixteen Candles only ugly was saying, �Give her to me! Give her to me!� Then somehow we got her back and I commented to Brent how ugly the popular kids were there and how surprising it was because usually the popular kids are relatively attractive. And then, because I�m not in high school anymore and slightly more confident, I said, �Get out of here, you ugly people,� knowing I would probably end up getting beat up at some point in the future. Ok, so maybe I�m no more articulate then I was then� oh well. And at some point we were in a mall and very interested in exploring a gutted TGI Friday�s for some reason. You�d think we�d never seen a gutted chain restaurant before! And weird� it actually is Friday. And then I dreamt of Good Day Live and decided it was time to wake up (although where else can you�guilt-free, mind you�watch Carmen Electra sexy dance between �news� because she�s filling in for Jillian Barberie and it�s funny because she made Dorothy Lucey really uncomfortable with her sexydance). Anyway, I think I dreamt a lot of this because I started a new comic yesterday, The Horror of Collier County by Rich Tommaso and it�s good so far and it�s all about ugly scary evil Floridian humans that shoot people�s windows out because they put the Christianity and Judaism books on the same shelf and awkward alternative boys who like hot-but-they-don�t-know-it alternative girls and evil poodles and the Cocteau Twins.

So on that ugly popular kids thing� It�s always seemed strange to me that the �popular� kids aren�t really that �popular� at all. Maybe one should call them the politician kids, or the football kids or something. I mean, it�s a shame we have to have any �insert stereotype here� kids but well, while it is my Superheroine MO, ridding the world of genre isn�t particularly realistic. But the whole �popular� thing� maybe they should be called the �normal� kids? Vanilla kids? Draw inside the lines kids? Dunno. And I�m on shaky ground because I�m already making assumptions about them just because they�re called �popular.� My high school was in a different town than where I grew up and about 17 of us from Saddle River would trek over to Ramsey because we only had the private high school in town and it always felt a little too insular to me so I wanted to go to Ramsey and God knows better than anyone I didn�t want to go to Catholic school. So my BFF and I made sure to get to know a few kids who were from Ramsey or had gone to grammar school in Ramsey because word on the street was lots of Saddle River kids had a hard time at Ramsey because it was, well, insular. One of them, who is still a friend of my BFF, pulled me aside the first day of school at lunchtime and said, gesturing to the girl I had met in chorus that I was going to sit with, �Don�t sit with her. Come sit with us.� He then pulled over his wildly blue-eyed girlfriend, petite as can be with the perfect flower of bangs (remember, this was �88 and New Jersey) and she tried to convince me too that this could be bad for my rep to sit with this girl. Like you�re popular �til proven unpopular. What a load of shit. So I sat with the girl I was planning on sitting with and let the other two go their own popular way. The whole thing made me queasy. Home schooling really sounds better and better to me everyday. Not to generalize, but every person I�ve ever met who was home schooled is a delightfully wacky soul who was allowed to prosper and rock on with his or her bad self and never beat down by The Man that is High School and never forced to either conform in order to not get beat up or get physically or emotionally battered because he or she wouldn�t conform. But on the flip side, I�m glad I was �in the shit� after all because it made me who I am, blah blah blah and I like that person. And I�m a dork dork dork.

Oh, this close to summer weather is heavenly. The balmy air is billowing in and it feels like it is on the brink of rain. Unbelievably delicious. And my foot is still screwy so I don�t feel like gimping my way all over the Square or Parts Unknown. So Tigger and I are having to languidly lounge around the hizzo.

My horoscope for today said something about making art for art�s sake and whatnot. So I�m writing. But I wouldn�t call it art. Writing for writing�s sake. Maybe I�ll work on my book of which I�ve written one page.

Video Killed the Potadio Star!

Potadio! Potadio!

Speaking of Potadio, read this scathingly hysterical interview with �underground punk luminary� (whatever) Willa Catheter. It�s great. She hates radio and tells you why and says things like:

�I try not to listen to the radio if I can help it. It's usually horrible. "Candle in the Wind" will come on and it will make me thankful that Marilyn Monroe is dead and doesn't have to hear that homage. Even worse was that version Elton John did for Princess Diana. That sucked. I remember when she died, it was the same week as Mother Teresa, and a fucking commentator on CNN asked which of them had made a bigger impact. I yelled at the TV: "Diana! She hit that pillar at 200 miles per hour, dumbass!" Then Elton John--oh excuse me, Sir Elton John--released that version where he changed the lyrics to, "Good-bye England's rose." I became physically ill when I heard that. Not even from Chrissie Hynde do I want to hear that shit. I know people got all pissed off about Elton singing with Eminem at the Grammys, but come on--it's the only even remotely edgy thing he's mustered since he got that Muppet pageboy hair transplant. Sure Eminem's a misogynistic homophobe, but how does that make him any different than any other twat in the music business? Christ, where I live, that dye job and those tats make that little punk somebody's bitch.�

So funny! I�m definitely going to buy her book Bitches B Krazy. I just have to find it.

So here I am thinkin� I�m all music-forward and shit with my Aquabats and Brent gets in the car the other night and I�m all �Oooo� I found like this new thing and I�m really excited about it� look how funny the cover is!� And he�s all �yeah, the Aquabats. They�re ska.� And I�m all �Naaaaa, they�re not� (because they�re not anymore) and he�s all �yeah, lots of my friends in Idaho liked them� and I�m all feeling stupid because who am I to think no one else knows the Aquabats but I�m over it.

So weird�Jesus Jones is playing at the Paradise tonight. I can�t believe they�re still kicking it. I wanna ask �em if they�ve changed their minds or if there really is no other place they�d rather be.

Carnie Wilson is on John Edward. I wonder if the unused part of her stomach will come through. For some reason that seemed really funny to me.

Padiddle me this: Why is it that so many American cooks have such good taste in music?

Who�s Pee Wee sitting on? Hmmm�..

Word of the Day for Friday May 31, 2002:

chary CHAIR-ee, adjective:

1. Wary; cautious.

2. Not giving or expending freely; sparing.

What do you suppose the Founding Fathers, so chary of overweening government power, would make of a prosecutor with virtually unlimited reach and a staff the size of a small town? --"U.S. trampling rights at home and abroad," [1]Atlanta Journal-Constitution, February 17, 1998

Investors should be chary, however, for the returns are far from sizzling. --"The Stampede Into Variable Annuities," [2]Fortune, October 13, 1986

Bankers, consulted as to whether or not they believed that the full force of the decline had spent its fury, were chary of predictions. --"Leaders See Fear Waning," [3]New York Times, October 30, 1929

When I visited Sissinghurst with my growing family she was always welcoming, eager for our news but chary of her own. --Nigel Nicolson, [4]Long Life

Chary comes from Old English cearig, "careful, sorrowful," from cearu, "grief, sorrow, care."

last - now - next

Give Me Clix, If It Pleases You

I declare this blog �old timey,� ya flibbertigibbet! - 2012-05-27

I Heart Heart Of Gold! - 2006-03-27

Catster, Geezster - 2005-12-20

Le Divorce - 2005-12-12

'Cuz We Need A Little Christmas... - 2005-12-06

join my notify list and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Goodbye, Mailbox. Bye-bye.

All material on this site �2001 to the present copyrighted Ruby Fuss Inc. except where otherwise noted, quoted, or linked. Design �poo designs with colors and images by Ruby Fuss and other parties noted and linked (Scientist graphic by busy-milkman). To quote Sailor Jerry, "Steal [it] and we will sue you." Stir and enjoy!